Google Photos service was launched two months ago and now Google is shutting down its predecessor, Google+ Photos on August 1. The search engine giant will begin shutting down the Google+ Photos service firstly on Android, followed by the web and iOS versions.
What will happen to the photos saved in Google+ Photos?
Google wrote in a Google+ post “Don’t worry, all your photos and videos will still be saved and available after you switch to the new, stand-alone Google Photos app. With the new app you’ll still be able to backup, edit, and share your photos and videos, with unlimited storage, automatic organisation, and more.”
Users still using Google+ Photos, will soon have to make the switch as the app will be shut down soon. They might have seen a prompt message asking them to download the new Google Photos app. Once the users make the switch, all their photos and videos will be saved in the new app.
Google+ Photos on Android will soon shut down, but users’ photos and videos will still remain safely stored and available via http://photos.google.com or they can export using Google Takeout. Users are not required to be signed up to the Google+ social network to use the new app, which was launched in May. So, it means that all users on web, iOS and Android will be able to use the service.
The new Google Photos app is more powerful than the Google+ Photos as it would give users unlimited storage of 16MP photos and 1080p videos for free. Additionally, some other features like editing tools and the ability to share videos and photos via links, instead of mails would also be available once the users shift to Google Photos app. Users can also port all their data to this new standalone app with the help of a new tool provided by Google on its Google+ Photos page.